Engine selection advice needed!! - Team Camaro Tech
Engine General Engine Discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 8th, 06, 07:23 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Mike

Engine selection advice needed!!

I just pulled my engine out of my 68 camaro to recondition everything under the hood. I'll be painting and cleaning up the wiring to make it look better, but I would like some advice on what I should do about the engine.

I currently have a 350 which originally came out of a '79 chevy truck. It was rebuilt about 4 years ago but does not give me enough satisfaction while driving it. So, this is what I'm getting at-- I want a 383 that produces 400hp and 400 lbs of torque.
Should I get a crate engine such as the GM ZZ383 425HP/460TQ that costs around $4800? Or should I take my current '78 truck engine to a reputable shop and pay to have it rebuilt? Since I am new to the scene I am not knowledgable enough to know about whether certain 350's are better than others. Does it matter whether a 350 came out a truck, camaro, or so forth?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 8th, 06, 08:50 PM
Senior Tech
Wes

Re: Engine selection advice needed!!

What heads and intake do you have and did you want to use them on the 383?
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 8th, 06, 09:57 PM
Senior Tech
Keith