Elec. System Protection - Best Places for Fuses? - Team Camaro Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old Oct 5th, 07, 12:46 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Bill

Elec. System Protection - Best Places for Fuses?

I've done a lot of re-wiring in my car and converted to a 1-wire alternator and in the process have gotten rid of the original fusible links. I'm thinking that I definitely need to add some protection in case the alternator were to fail and not know when to stop charging. I have some knowledge about electricity but probably only enough to make me dangerous. Where do you all think would be the best places to put main fuses inline to protect battery and rest of the system? I'm thinking in between the wire that charges the battery from the alternator and then from the main wire out of the battery to the distribution block. Sound Good? Also, what amperage should I use on these fuses and also would circuit breakers be better than fuses? I would greatly appreciate all input and advise?

Thank You!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old Oct 5th, 07, 01:08 PM
Senior Tech
Steps

Re: Elec. System Protection - Best Places for Fuses?

Why get rid of the fusable link....???
put it back in.

My Spelling is not incorrect...it is creative

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old Oct 5th, 07, 03:46 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Bill

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steptoe View Post
Why get rid of the fusable link....???
put it back in.