Wiring Harness Help - Team Camaro Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old Apr 13th, 09, 02:37 PM Thread Starter
Mark

Wiring Harness Help

Can somebody help? I have a 69 Camaro I am putting back together.I removed all the old wiring. It was pieced together and somebody cut the console hook up out. My dilemma is which wiring harness to buy? Do I buy the aftermarket GM reproductions, Painless, American Autowire? I have a car with Auto, Console Gauges (Reproduction) AC and a Tach (Reproduction) Is it worth buying the reproduction of the original? Do any of them come labeled? I am very new to this whole thing.
Thanks Mark
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old Apr 13th, 09, 04:03 PM
Senior Tech
Joe

Re: Wiring Harness Help

Hi Mark, I would go with the American Autowire harnesses. They are pretty much exact reproductions of the original. I used their conversion harness to add factory console gauges to my 69 and it worked very well. The instructions are not too bad but if you run into issues there are a lot people on this site who will help you...just add pictures it helps.

Good luck

http://www.americanautowire.com/Fact...Harnesses.html

Z282NV

1969 Camaro
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old Apr 13th, 09, 04:59 PM
Senior Tech

Mark have you tried searching for "painless" here? American Autowire and one other that escapes me at the moment is more of a plug and play option. Also, the supplier provides some nifty upgrades if you want a modern alternator or HEI etc. Painless is more of a one-size-fits all and requires you to reuse connectors and cope with some customization issues yourself.