Plug Wire Questions..Need Help. - Team Camaro Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old Apr 19th, 09, 02:20 PM Thread Starter

Plug Wire Questions..Need Help.

I just picked up a set of Mallory Ignition 8mm Plug Wire set to change out my old plug wires. I've never used Mallory products before but when I opened the box, there are two different sets of Distributor Terminals and Boots (one terminal set is Silver and the other is Gold).

Now here's where I show my ignorance..... I dug around on the Mallory website and it appears that one set is "Standard" and the other set us "HEI". Question is, which set do I use? I'm putting them on a pretty much stock, plain jane 327 SB with what I believe to be a stock GM type distributor, coil, etc.

Just need some direction from you guys....as you can tell, I'm not even a novice mechanic here but learning.

Thanks in advance,

John
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old Apr 19th, 09, 02:36 PM
Senior Tech

Re: Plug Wire Questions..Need Help.

Hope this helps. HEI terminals look just like the top of a spark plug with a protruding tip that the plug snaps on to. Non-HEI / Breaker Points setups have a brass socket that the wire end sticks inside of to form a connection. Visually you should be able to tell the difference. However, if your setup is like mine, I have an HEI cap, and an Accel Super Coil with a standard brass socket type top. So I needed a special wire that was HEI on one end (for the cap) and the brass socket type on the coil end.

Here are some tricks for a small block chevy. Take a sharpie and number your old wires before removal. #1 cylinder is on the front left of the engine behind the drivers head lamp so to speak. The odd cylinders start at #1 on the front left down to #7 on the back left (1,3,5,7). The right side from the front of the motor to the back are 2,4,6,and 8. The firing order is 1.8.4.3.6.5.7.2