Alternator question - Team Camaro Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old Sep 25th, 09, 01:58 PM Thread Starter
Tech Team
Greg

Alternator question

I have been traveling lately and not able to drive my car. I tried to crank it and it is dead. It does not make a sound. The batter is new. I used jumper cables and it firedd right up, ran for 10 minutes and cut of. It will not start again. I figure it is the alternator or voltage regulator. I will have the alternator tested this weekend. My question is pertaining to the amps. Rick's is selling an 55 Amp alternator for 327 and the local auto parts store is selling 61 amp alternator for the 327. Does it matter which one I use? Sorry for the simple question, but I am new to this and just learning to work on things myself.

Thanks,
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old Sep 25th, 09, 02:03 PM
Gold Lifetime Member
Mike

Re: Alternator question

Starting your car for only 10 minutes will not charge you battery enough. It needs a good couple hour charge then the alternator will top of the charge. Your alternator should be fine, 5 amps does make that much difference. I would assume you have a small current draw and that is why your battery is dead.

You need to find out what is draining the battery. Do a search on here for battery dead problems and they talk about what to look at. They also tell you how to use a test light to find your problem.

Your battery should not go dead in 2 weeks.

Mike
69 Camaro Prostreet - purple w/ghost flames , 502 w/ 871 blower

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old Sep 25th, 09, 02:18 PM Thread Starter
Tech Team
Greg

Quote:
Originally Posted by prostreet69camaro View Post