Engine loses spark after starting - Team Camaro Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old Dec 14th, 09, 10:25 AM Thread Starter
Dray

Engine loses spark after starting

This is my first post but I have searched the site and read probably 100 posts with no success so hopefully I am not repeating a question. I will also preface that I am new to the hobby and learning as I go so pardon any misuse of terms in advance.

I am looking for possible suggestions/solutions to an electrical problem that is driving me up the wall. I just recently purchased a 67 RS Convertible and rewired the entire car with a Classic Update Kit from American Autowire. I have power to everything (even rewired the RS lights and they work now) but lose spark at the plugs. It has a newer 350 crate engine with an accel coil and HEI distibutor. I do not have the model numbers handy. When the ignition is in the on/run position I have power to the + and - posts of the coil. I have gotten it to start twice, each time running long enough to get 1-2 miles from my house only to have it die and then no spark at the plugs. I added a ground wire from the firewall to the block after the first time it died and boom it started right up. I took it for a spin only to have it die the second time a mile from my house. Again, no spark at the plugs but power going from the coil to the distributor. I am thinking my wife has a chip on it that will keep me within a mile of the house now .

I have seen many posts on timing but I am not skilled enough to go that deep nor do I think that is the case because when there is spark, it fires right up no problem. I am also trying to avoid pulling the distributor at all costs since I have no clue how to put it back correctly. Has anyone seen something like this where spark is lost after driving a short distance or have any troubleshooting suggestions on how to find it?

Any and all help is appreciated.