Possible ground or other RS Headlights - Team Camaro Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old May 12th, 10, 10:16 PM Thread Starter
Don

Possible ground or other RS Headlights

Hello,

Please bear with me as this is my first attempt to describe a problem via this web-site.

I own a 1967 Chevy Camaro with a newly installed hide-away headlight kit. This kit appears to work fine. However, when I turn the lights on, turn the key to ignition without starting the car. I then proceed to turn a signal light on (left or right does not matter) and turn the switch for the back-up lights on, the entire car loses power. It takes about 10 to 20 seconds for the power to be restored. As it restores, a clicking can be heard. I believe I have identified this source. It is not the voltage regulator but rather a relay that is located on the other side of the windshield washer reservoir tucked up under the driver's side front quarter panel.

Also when driving, I have an electric fan and an electric fuel pump. I can have my headlights on, but when I put on my turn signal (either right or left) the car loses all power.

Now, I believe I eliminated the alternator as a possible culprit with the following test. First I hooked up the ignition directly to the battery and also the fan. I then proceeded to turn things on like I normally would. The headlights and then the turn signals. The car stayed running but the headlights and signal lights simply died.

I then reconnected everything and ran the car in park at 3,200 rpms. The car not only died but it made some horrendous sounds as it tried to restart. I WONT DO THAT AGAIN!!!!

SO I do not believe it is the alternator.

Now the car has a brand new 427 SBC chevy where it had a summit crate 350 in it before. Also, this car was not originally an RS.