What is needed for installing floor console gauges and tic-toc tach? - Team Camaro Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old Aug 17th, 10, 06:12 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech

What is needed for installing floor console gauges and tic-toc tach?

Hey guys,

What do I need to install the aftermarket floor console guages and the tic-toc tach on my 68?
Do I need a new dash instrument circuit board for the tach? I have the fuel guage where the tach will go now, and the fuel guage will end up on the floor console. So do I also need a new circuit board made for a tach rather than a fuel guage?
Also, how difficult is this undertaking? Am I going to be waaaaaay over my head on this if I have never done it before?
Thanks a lot for all the help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old Aug 17th, 10, 09:53 PM
Senior Tech
Steps

Re: What is needed for installing floor console gauges and tic-toc tac

Well I can only describe for a 69 which I assume would be the same
Quote:
What do I need to install the aftermarket floor console guages and the tic-toc tach on my 68?
you need the consol, the gauges and pod they fit in and the wiring loom to hook into the main loom...note there is also wiring to go thru to the engine bay for the ampmeter.
The unit we got for a friends resto also came with a wiring circuit
Quote:
Do I need a new dash instrument circuit board for the tach?
No, that tach wires into the loom.

Quote:
Also, how difficult is this undertaking?
Depends if you take the seats out or not..no seats lot easier
Seriously thu it is not diffcuilt , but is time consuming....just following the circuit diagrams, Wires are all colour coded...you may find a couple of wires that connect into the looms, baynet fittings inside the loom...not a problem you can feel them iside and a small cut.