new ignition, is it a newb friendly install? - Team Camaro Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old Dec 24th, 10, 01:07 AM Thread Starter
Senior Tech

new ignition, is it a newb friendly install?

Well I got myself a new ignition for xmas and am thinking about trying to install it today. This is what I got 6AL MSD Ignition #6420, MSD Blaster HVC-2 #8253 and MSD Pro-Billet Distributors #8570. I have been searching all night to try and figure out if I should attempt. I have never done any ignition stuff before so other then the instructions that came with the products i'm going at this blind. The car currently has a HEI. I understand alot of problems can be resolved by running the power and ground direct to the battery which I will do, even though its in the trunk. I am going to soder everything I do know the importance of that. Is this a newbie capable install or should I wait until I can get somebody else to help me? I would like the satisfaction of doing it but hate to mess it up. Pointers that I wouldn't get from the instructions that came with it are welcome.

Jake

69 camaro 502 TH400 Dana 60 4:10 gears. Old drag car now my little learning lab. Short video of my last time to the track, who knows how many for the car!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Amsoilguy; Dec 24th, 10 at 01:40 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old Dec 24th, 10, 09:54 AM
Senior Tech
Alan

Re: new ignition, is it a newb friendly install?

I think the issue of soldering connections was brought up a while ago and the consensus was that good crimping was the way to go.