HEI missing vacuum line?? - Team Camaro Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old Mar 30th, 13, 08:07 AM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Joe

HEI missing vacuum line??

I'm an old guy who got back into cars after 35 years. I'm not up to date on HEI ignition. I had some work done on the 350, cam and alum heads. When I got it back there is no vacuum line on the distributor. The car seems to run good at all rpms. So heres my questions.
1. Can someone explain how this works?
2. Would I be better off with the line back on?
3. If it doesn't matter should I plug the holes?
I'm not a guru, but I've rebuilt more than 10 engines in the past. I just remember the point system better.
Thanks in advance........................................... .................
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old Mar 30th, 13, 09:48 AM
Gold Lifetime Member
Robert

Re: HEI missing vacuum line????

Hey Joe, I'm no pro with HEI myself but does your HEI have a vacuum advance? Some HEI do not have vacuum advance. I'm assuming you do since you're asking about plugging it. Have you read the sticky in the Performance section? Here it is .... https://www.camaros.net/forums/showthread.php?t=150344
Great thread about VA and running full manifold vacuum and such. Give it a read.

68 Camaro SS... getting there!!
"If happiness is in your destiny, you need not be in a hurry."
If I can only convince myself of this!

My slooow build thread
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old Mar 30th, 13, 09:57 AM
Super Moderator
Bess-68's rule

Garage
Re: HEI missing vacuum line????

Yes, give the sticky a good read as Robert suggests then try some options.
Make noted as to the action taken, then compare results.
Not a bad idea to have a vacuum line connected to it, full manifold vacuum.