1968 Camaro , electrical disaster - Team Camaro Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old May 26th, 13, 06:28 AM Thread Starter
Joe

1968 Camaro , electrical disaster

Thank you for letting me join, but i have a disaster , I want to resolve and need advice. I have been handed a 68, with a small block, from a 6. I have done projects like this before ( but everything marked and easy to do ) When I got this project , all the parts were thrown in the trunk , un marked, etc and told make it work. I am no expert that is why I am here . The problem I got is the current wiring has been painted all BLACK ,chopped , and I am trying to figure the engine wiring( HEI , etc.) I have a wiring diagram for a 68-69 6 cyl-and 8. There has to be a short cut to figure this out

I know /found the battery cable to starter ,the small wire off the battery to alternator.

Here is the problem. I can't locate the hot wire for the distributor(HEI),and the power wire for the fuse block. I look under the dash, and it looks like 15 lbs of spaghetti, in a 1 quart container.The outside of the junction block has been hacked and chopped. There is a 12 gauge wire that runs from the fire wall to the front of the bay ,across then follows the battery wire to the starter. i presume that is for the small lug on the starter (closest to the block).

Any help would be greatly appreciated . Joe
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old May 26th, 13, 06:41 AM
Senior Tech
kevin

Re: 1968 Camaro , electrical disaster

if the wiring is that bad I would suggest another wiring harness. at least from the firewall out
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old May 26th, 13, 06:58 AM
Senior Tech

Got to agree with Kevin.

You can either go with a newer application, or pick up a good used one and start from scratch. Plus, there are some really good coloured schematics out there that would aid in your replacement, eh?

capt