67camaro - Team Camaro Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Jul 17th, 13, 08:38 PM Thread Starter

67camaro

I just started working on my 1967 camaro that has been sitting in my driveway for years. the motor and everything like the starter works perfectly fine. We were able to start without using the key, so we know its nothing to do with the motor. but when you turn the key only the dashboard lights come on. there is no clicking noise or anything from the motor. the brake and headlights also don't turn on. I've tried changing the ignition lock and switch but the same thing happens. brand new battery that is reading the right 12 volts. I'm really new to working on cars so all the help i can get will be really helpful.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old Jul 18th, 13, 04:31 AM
Super Moderator
Bess-68's rule

Garage
Re: 67camaro

Welcome, Naz.
Your symptoms are quite strange for a '67. You have warning lights come on, ie, OIL, GEN, but no headlamps.
Power comes through the firewall plug via a large red wire, 12 AWG and in the dash harness, gets crimped with another red wire and goes to the fuse panel, ignition switch, and headlamp switch.
First, I will suggest, if an automatic, ensure the neutral safety switch is adjusted correctly as the starter engages only in neutral and Park. Holding the ign sw in START position and shift through the gear selections may get some action from the starter.

Back to other power, as said, I find it strange having idiot lights but no headlamps.
You might remove/wiggle all connectors behind the dash removing corrosion built up over the years. Take one off at a time. Do the same with the fuses in the fuse panel - remove clean both the socket with a Q-tip and alcohol, and the fuse.

Your best bet in guiding you would be to acquire a '67 AIM, Assembly Instruction Manual.