Condensor on my heater fan power wire ??? - Team Camaro Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old Sep 5th, 14, 11:43 PM Thread Starter
Victor

Condensor on my heater fan power wire ???

Hi Folks....I am new to this so here goes. I have a nice little 67 327 camaro with the bench seat option, and NO air. I have only had it since April and I just noticed while looking under the hood that the power wire that goes to the heater fan motor has what looks like a distributor condenser in the wire. It is mounted down at the lower part of the fire wall on the passenger side, and has a small ground strap underneath the bolt that holds it in place. Does anybody know what I am talking about. It had to be put on at the factory from the looks of it. I tried to upload a picture but it wouldn't let me.... I just am wondering what this thing is ?????
Thank you and may GOD Bless.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old Sep 6th, 14, 02:29 AM
Senior Tech
Scott

Re: Condensor on my heater fan power wire ???

I believe it was/is for noise suppression (for AM radio like the one on the voltage regulator and/or ignition coil). I've seen plenty of first generation Camaro's with them and plenty without so I'm not sure what determined which cars rolled off the production lines with or without them.

69 Camaro Z/28 RS, original Azure Turquoise, M21 & 3.73 12-bolt posi. NOM 406ci, AFR 210 heads, Straub hyd. roller cam & Dynatech 1-3/4" > 1-7/8" headers, QuickFuel 750 Annular. Photos at:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old Sep 6th, 14, 05:32 AM
Admin/Super Moderator
Brian

Garage

Yes Scott, AM radios were subject to tons of unwanted noise from motors and points style ignition. Some of us are from a period where it is fondly remembered, others as an annoyance.