American Autowire Harness - any tips/tricks/advice for a newbie? - Team Camaro Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old Mar 11th, 15, 09:19 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Brian

American Autowire Harness - any tips/tricks/advice for a newbie?

I'm breaking down and rewiring my 69 Z/28 - I picked the American Autowire Classic Update full wiring harness. I'm no expert on electrical - any tips/tricks or advice from some of your grizzled veterans on what to do/not do? Any help would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old Mar 11th, 15, 09:32 PM
Senior Tech
Doug

Re: American Autowire Harness - any tips/tricks/advice for a newbie?

Sit down and read the instructions before starting to do anything. Make sure you have all the tools needed for the job.
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old Mar 11th, 15, 11:09 PM
Senior Tech
Tim

Take your time, and as Doug said, make sure you have all the schematics and tools before starting. If you still have the original wiring, label every existing connector before you start. Lay each harness out and run it following the original harness route as best you can, using all the clips and mounting points wherever possible. Undo one thing at a time (remove old connector, attach new one before proceeding to next one) to avoid getting confused. From memory, the Classic Update series wiring is labelled regularly along the insulation, so it's relatively logical if you do get in a muddle, or if you are starting out with no existing wiring.
Oh, and Good Luck

1969 04A Van Nuys-built Z/28. Cortez Silver with dark blue interior and VE3. Sold Clippinger Chevrolet. Raced at Lions in LA.

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old Mar 12th, 15, 04:25 AM
Super Moderator
Bess-68's rule

Garage

Good suggestions given.
Pictures of the connected original wiring makes for good reference material.