Alternator / Charging ...? - Team Camaro Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old Apr 28th, 15, 05:02 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Kip

Alternator / Charging ...?

I have a Powermaster CS130 140a alternator (wired as 3-wire) on my 67. It is part of a Vintage Air Frontrunner serpentine belt system. The last couple times I have had the car out, it charges fine(14.5 at alt post) at start up...until it warms up I leave the driveway... Then the voltage drops to 12v or below at the alternator (10 at the gauge).

The charging system is wired as follows:

Keyed wire to the alternator from ignition
Sensor wire from alternator to horn relay
Wire from alt main battery terminal to horn relay and then to the battery.

Everything seemed to be working fine. Connections seem to be clean as they were assembled just last summer.

Alternator tested good at the parts store...

Not quite sure what to make of it... I would appreciate suggestions...!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old Apr 28th, 15, 05:05 PM
Senior Tech
Camarodude67

Re: Alternator / Charging ...?

Are you using a External Voltage Regulator?
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old Apr 28th, 15, 05:14 PM
____

Garage
Send a message via MSN to DOUG G

A picture is worth a thousand words...

Click image for larger version

Name:	130alt wire.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	19.6 KB
ID:	109393

68 Camaro~LSx ~all motor
1.54 60'--6.95 @ 98.45 660'--10.96 @ 121.53

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old Apr 28th, 15, 05:21 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Kip

The alternator is internally regulated..

That pic is essentially how I have it wired up...

Cant figure out what is causing the drop off... guess Im gonna have to tear into the wiring.....
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old Apr 28th, 15, 06:19 PM
____

Garage
Send a message via MSN to DOUG G

Yes, and you did the wire mod at the external regulator, correct ?