68 Camaro cranks but won't start - Team Camaro Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old Feb 25th, 16, 02:47 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
majj

Garage
68 Camaro cranks but won't start

Hey guys,
I just got my SS Restomod last month. It has a restored 350ci 4 speed. I only take the car out when the weather is nice (1-2 a week). I had zero issues when starting the car until today. I took the car out, went to the gym then lunch all good. I left to get coffee and stopped on the side of the road waiting for a friend, the car was on neutral...the rpm started dropping and the engine died. I tried cranking the car several times, pumping the gas...nothing.

A bystander said he was a mechanic, we popped the hood unscrewed the carburetor to hold the choke while I crank it again (btw minimal smoke or fumes were coming out from the choke throttle)...still nothing. I'm a newbie and I have no experience here, but the guy said something about too much fuel not enough air and to let the car sit for a while.

I left the car for around 45 mins, came back to crank it. first time, nothing...my second time I turned the ignition kept it cranking for a good 15 seconds because i felt it coming back to life...pumped a little gas and it finally turned on and threw fumes out of the exhaust. It drove fine all the way home.

I'm now worried to take the car out and have it happen again on a main road. I've contacted a classic auto repair shop (Jamie's one stop auto shop, in MA) that was referred by the dealership I bought the car from. I will definitely take the car for a full checkup, but any advice on what to do next time or what you think the sudden cause of this is from ? Thanks guys!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old Feb 25th, 16, 02:59 PM
Admin/Super Moderator
Brian

Garage
Re: 68 Camaro cranks but won't start

Majj - A common error is flooding the engine by pumping the pedal.