Weird light problem... help! - Team Camaro Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old May 30th, 04, 05:02 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech

I've got a 67 Camaro, and not a single electrical light/system worked when I got it... now at least I have everything working... BUT, this is kind of weird. The headlights and interior lights flicker a little at night, and it is related to rpm. I did not install any resistors anywhere when I put things back together (they weren't present to begin with). And I have a new msd6al ignition system and coil... anyone else have this problem. Do you think it is related to:

1. Alternator
2. Plug wires or MSD system
3. Voltage regulator
4. Lack of resistors
5. Bad ground

OR... is this NORMAL on old 67 Camaro's... LOL. I'm new to them, so bear with me.

67 Camaro | 350 | 650 Speed Demon | Dual plane GMPP intake | MSD ignition | Secret Cam (I don't know what it IS!) | 2.02/1.60 Camel Humps ported | Thorley Tri-Y's | 8.5 10 bolt 3.73 | M22
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old May 30th, 04, 08:35 PM
Senior Tech

Probably one of two things. Either a bad connection or a flaky voltage regulator. I presume the fuse block and harness are original.

Bad connections often exist at the fuse block itself. The fuse clips are probably a bit rusty . If you want to confirm this, get a digital volt meter and measure the voltage drop between the fuse cap and it's associated terminal. If you see anything more than a few hundredths of a volt you've got a problem. The fuse might also get warm on the end with the bad connection. If so, try a brass gun barrel brush to buff up the interior surface. I always like to follow up about any connection with dielectric grease. It helps keep oxygen and moisture away from the bright metal.