Help with my battery relocation please - Team Camaro Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Mar 20th, 19, 12:49 PM Thread Starter
Tech Team
Alex

Help with my battery relocation please

1969 Firebird. First off, I'm really a dumb simpleton and a total newb when it comes to electrical, so when helping PLEASE spell it out for me like I'm a child. I need to get my sh*t in order before my car burns down. I want to do everything right (correcting what the previous owner did) and the first step in that will be relocating the battery to my trunk behind the rear passenger seat (I need the space under the hood).

I'm running a ton of modern stuff that needs GOOD power: Dakota VHX gauges, Dakota digital fan controller, dual electric radiator fans, VintageAir A/C & heater, fans on my transmission & oil coolers, LED headlights & all LED bulbs everywhere else all over the car, Holley Terminator Stealth EFI & fuel pump, and eventually I'll add a mild stereo system. Also, I live in the CA desert where it can be 125F, stuck in traffic, with literally ALL of that running simultaneously. Only thing I don't have is an electric water pump and power windows.

Here are the parts I already have:

New 1 wire alternator (replacing my externally regulated alt) - already installed
Odyssey battery, NHRA Moroso battery box w/pad (NHRA)
Pollak battery disconnect switch (NHRA) w/pigtail to keep power to the radio - mounted on tail panel
Remote starter solenoid - currently on the radiator support
New ground cables: Battery to the body, body to engine, & body to the radiator support. All are 1/0 gauge in black.

My buy list:

Power distribution block
200 amp fuse
3/8" bolt hardware to mount battery box
4 gauge welding wire