Can a dummy install the AAW update kit - Team Camaro Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old Jan 12th, 20, 05:56 PM Thread Starter
Apprentice

Can a dummy install the AAW update kit

So I’m pretty mechanically inclined but I have little knowledge in terms of electrical wiring. So I guess my question is how good are the instructions with this kit? Are they straight forward in terms of telling you EXACTLY what wires to hook to what spot or do they assume you know certain things about wiring? Thx
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old Jan 12th, 20, 06:16 PM
Gold Lifetime Member
Steve

Re: Can a dummy install the AAW update kit

Probably. The classic update kit assumes that you have changed some things. None of the rear body or underhood connections are cut to length. All wires are labeled as to their function, its printed on the wire. I didn't note what year you have but if its a 67 the kit will be handing you a 68 fuse block setup and a 68 headlight switch. The kit also does not handle 67 hideaway headlights. Be conscious of your grounds to the point of being anal about them. Buy the crimpers.

67RSSS......owned since 69. A basket case for most of it.
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old Jan 12th, 20, 06:27 PM
Gold Lifetime Member
Steven

It all comes down to how well you interperit the instructions, how well you can crimp terminals, and know where to cut the wires to length. other than that it is a breeze

69 Frost Green Camaro
LS3 with TSP stage 3 cam
Tremec TKO 600
Moser 12 bolt rear with ford ends 3.73:1 Eaton tru trac differential
Speedtech pro touring subframe
Ridetech rear 4-Link

Follow my journey here:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old Jan 12th, 20, 06:51 PM Thread Starter
Apprentice

I have a 67. No hideaway headlights though.