Car Running....Then lost all power to Ignition! HELP - Team Camaro Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old Jul 19th, 06, 07:28 PM Thread Starter

Car Running....Then lost all power to Ignition! HELP

Hi Everyone
To start this off, I'm a fairly experienced mechanic, but my skills with electrical systems are not as sharp as I'd like!

Anyhow, I went to load up my 69 Camaro on the car trailer today and the thing just died. It lost all power to the ignition. It wouldn't turn over, no dash lights would come on, nothing. I checked the fuse panel, and they all looked intact. I checked the battery, alternator, starter and coil wiring, along with grounds and it all looked good. The only light that would come on was the dome light.

The car is acting like a main fuse for the ignition is blown or the ignition switch is not engaging. I should mention that a couple of weeks ago I attempted to turn the car off, removed the key from the ignition and the car kept running.

What do you think the problem is? Is there a fuse or relay that would do this, or maybe it's the ignition on the steering column. Please help, the car is stranded on my car trailer, parked in my driveway. The wife is no my case already :-( .
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old Jul 19th, 06, 07:42 PM
Team Member

Re: Car Running....Then lost all power to Ignition! HELP

One place to look is the terminal block mounted to the radiator core support behind the battery. Make sure the battery pig tail is good to the terminal, it is tight and the cable to the horn relay is all in good condition.

TTFN
Mat

SSCARGO
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old Jul 20th, 06, 12:36 AM
Senior Tech

Send a message via AIM to undee72Z

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsabowabo