Need help on wiring - Team Camaro Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old Jul 24th, 06, 06:45 PM Thread Starter
ENP
Senior Tech

Need help on wiring

I am new to the electrical game. I have a 69 camaro. I replaced every wire with new "Factory Fit" wire harnesses. The motor in my car is a GM 502. I have a electric fuel pump and dual fans for my radiator. The electric fuel pump and radiator fan wire goes to the ignition. My new fuse block shows a plug in that is labeled "IGN". I assume this is ignition. How do I wire both the fuel pump and fan wire to this "IGN". I really hope this made sense. I had a long day.
thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old Jul 25th, 06, 02:10 AM
Senior Tech

Send a message via AIM to undee72Z
Re: Need help on wiring

Quote:
Originally Posted by ENP
I have a electric fuel pump and dual fans for my radiator. The electric fuel pump and radiator fan wire goes to the ignition. My new fuse block shows a plug in that is labeled "IGN". I assume this is ignition. How do I wire both the fuel pump and fan wire to this "IGN". I really hope this made sense. I had a long day.
thanks
The IGN terminal at the fuse box is for adding low power items. If you wired a fan to it directly, it would probably blow the fuse everytime you turned it on. Use a relay for these items. A relay is nothing more than a remote controlled switch. Relays use a small amount of power to turn on ( or off) a large amount of power, see pic and link
http://www.bcae1.com/relays.htm#demo