New MSD Distributor I NEED HELP - Team Camaro Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old Oct 17th, 06, 07:39 AM Thread Starter

New MSD Distributor I NEED HELP

I have been rebuilding a 79 Z28 Camaro. At first my battery would drain completely out and i did not know why. I figured that one out. I am new at this anyhow and all the tech names i dont know . I'm the guy that learns as he goes. I pick up real quick. ANYHOW
I put a new distributor in and the blaster coil in and all the spark plugs/wires and for some reason it will not fire up. I thought it might be my battery but after being on the charger for 2 days it will kick over. Everything will turn(if this makes any sense) but it just wont fire up. I've thought i had my wires from the blaster coil to distributor mixed up but i've tripled and quadropled checked and they seem right. I had to cut the ingniction wire and put a connector so it would fit on the blaster coil. maybe that's it i dont know though. PLEASE SOMEONE HELP ME. I'VE ALMOST GOT IT DONE PLEASE SOMEONE THAT HAS MORE KNOWLEDGE ABOUT THIS PLEASE HELP ME
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old Oct 17th, 06, 07:40 AM Thread Starter

Re: New MSD Distributor I NEED HELP

if you need to know anything else please let me know by email or reply to this thread anything
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old Oct 17th, 06, 08:40 AM
Senior Tech
Ross

Are you sure that the firing order is correct when you swapped out to the MSD. You say that you learn as you go, pull the distributor out then set your top dead center and drop it back in with the rotor pointing towards the #1 cylinder. Then set your firing order again 1,8,4,3,6,5,7,2. Get a test light and make sure that you have juice at the coil. Sometimes it is something really simple that you missed so don't panic just start from the begining. Let us know how you make out.