67 RS Headlight Doors Inop - Team Camaro Tech
Electrical & Wiring Troubleshooting electrical.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old Jan 2nd, 07, 03:35 PM Thread Starter

67 RS Headlight Doors Inop

I recently installed a RS Headlight Wiring Kit and the headlight doors will not open. They do not make any sound as if they are attempting to open. I checked the wiring and contacted Painless to confirm I had everything connected properly. I did notice that the old relay bracket has 3 relays and another smaller part mounted to it. This part was wired to one of the relays. I think it is the circuit breaker. Anyhow, the painless instructions did not mention including this part into the new wiring kit. I know my headlights worked fine before and I can't see how both motors would have burnt out. Please advise.

P.S. Sorry I am unfamiliar with the technical names for these parts. I am fairly new at working on cars.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old Jan 2nd, 07, 05:04 PM
Senior Tech
Mark

Re: 67 RS Headlight Doors Inop

You are correct, that is a little circuit breaker next to the relays and it is required for the RS system to work as it feeds power to the whole system straight from the horn relay. You should have a red wire from the horn relay going to the circuit breaker and a orange wire from the circuit breaker to the relay #1. Check out my 67 RS help page here:
http://www.retro-electro.net/FAQ.html
Feel free to call (before 9 PM EST) if you need further help.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old Jan 2nd, 07, 07:35 PM Thread Starter