Restoring your Front bucket seats (69 Standard shown) - Team Camaro Tech
Interiors Upholstery & soft trim

6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old May 15th, 16, 07:13 AM Thread Starter
Kevin

Restoring your Front bucket seats (69 Standard shown)

Disclaimer: I am not a professional upholsterer, This is how I did mine after looking at videos and reading info and trying things

To do both seats is a pretty involved process, at least 4 days for a superman (it took me a month, on and off in the evenings). So make sure you have everything before you start and can live without driving the car for a while

Tools you will need:

Small bolt cutter (for removing hog rings)
Bag of 3/4" hog rings (usually comes in bags of 250 rings)
Hog ring pliers
Awl
Philips screwdrivers (medium and large)
Socket set
Allen keys
Pipe clamp
Various pliers and pry tools
Dremel with cut off wheel
Electric knife

Supplies you will need:

New seat covers
New seat foam
Jute felt carpet under-layment (ask for remnants)
Spray and brush-on contact cement
Spray and brush white lithium grease
Rust reformer spray paint
1/2" high density foam sheets
Felt, a yard should do, any color you want
14" tie wraps
Black duct/fabric 2" adhesive tape
Black and Stainless steel spray paint
Chrome spray paint
Krylon Fusion satin spray paint (for plastic to match interior color) Or SEMS product

Broken springs: Catalogs have the lower side springs repair kits available, but if the larger springs are broken, you will have to make your own. The seat bottom springs are .130, Amazon has small rolls of springs available "Zig Zag Auto Upholstery spring" #10 is .135 (good for bottoms), #11 is .120 good for backs. Cut and bend as needed.

Step 1: Disassembly

Remove headrest, pull straight up until the catch stops it. Move catch tab aside and pull up until headrest comes clear. Only friction hold it in place.