Interiors Upholstery & soft trim

1Likes
  • 1 Post By Shannon4570

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old Aug 12th, 19, 04:28 PM Thread Starter
Gold Lifetime Member
Tim

Console Question

I am hoping someone can shed some light on this issue. It seems most vendors will sell a complete console either assembled or unassembled. The assembled one is typically about $100 more. Why would anyone spend an additional hundred dollars to avoid snapping/screwing some plastic pieces together? I must be missing something but since I have no direct experience I thought I would ask the experts. This is for a console without gauges.

For what it's worth, I am leaning towards unassembled because I want to hydrodip the shift plate and the forward filler plate (and if I can save $100 in the process it's all good). I am concerned if I purchase the assembled one I might break it taking it apart

1969 Camaro - a gift from the brother-in-law build thread
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old Aug 12th, 19, 07:15 PM
Gold Lifetime Member
keith

The shift plate, and the forward plate come off easy. It's kinda a pain to put one together. I thought like you and bought an unassembled one. All the stoppers, and Ash tray springs will make you cuss. Ultimately your choice though.

X-77 keith
1969 x-77 Z/28 orange/ white stripes, named by my daughter "Clementine ", M-22 close ratio, 4:10 12 bolt, CE 302. Hugger orange with white stripes. White standard interior. Restoration complete May 2018
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old Aug 12th, 19, 08:06 PM Thread Starter
Gold Lifetime Member
Tim

Re: Console Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-77 keith View Post