Mechanic - Team Camaro Tech
Tech 2001 General Tech questions from 2001
Replies ONLY, no new topics.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old Sep 14th, 01, 02:58 PM Thread Starter

I'm not a car mechanic but I am a car lover. I recently bought a 1967, 327 automatic Camaro. 48,000 original miles
Every mechanic I've taken it to tell me it is a simple engine contruction and that they can fix the oil leak.
After having a new oil pan, oil pan gasket, several hoses replaced and seal
replacements, I am still experiencing a leak that ammounts to a quart of oil every 80 miles. I am looking for a recommendation of a mechaic in the New York City area who is reliable and knows this car. I am tired of people wasting my time and money. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old Sep 14th, 01, 05:15 PM
DjD
Retired
Dennis

Garage
First and I don't mean this in a rude way.. Open your eyes!!! Take a look under the hood!! Can you see the engine block and heads? 45K miles isn't much but 30+ yrs is. Steam clean or have it cleaned so you can see the leak when it occures... When things are clean it will be obvious where 1qt goes in a heartbeat... Study some so you can identify the major parts of the engine. After doing the above it will be easy to point the garage folks in the right direction...

The engine is the same construction as most modern internal combustion engines. The induction system systems have changed the most.

Welcome to Team Camaro, you will find a wealth of good info here! The best advice I can give any consumer is CYA! You don't have to be a subject matter expert to avoid getting taken but you have to have open eyes!! A sense of what is what so to speak. When you have under the hood as clean as you can get it and you can give an idea of where the leak is coming from let the folks here know.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old Sep 14th, 01, 10:40 PM

Welcome to the site!