the POS won't GO! - Team Camaro Tech
Tech 2001 General Tech questions from 2001
Replies ONLY, no new topics.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old Jan 20th, 02, 07:25 AM Thread Starter
Senior Tech

though I'm probably saying too much (cuz me and pat still need to race) I need opinions on this most angering situation.

I have a gm goodwrench 350 with RV cam, edelbrock 600 cfm carb, flowtech headers, msd ignition, 2 1/2 in dual exhaust and flowtech terminator mufflers. the car is a 67 camaro, with a 4 spd and 3.55 posi.

the thing has always run like crap (the cam and a new 3.55 rear make is run a little less like crap, but still bad all the same) and now I'm just beginning to get the time to work on it. My problems are

it bogs real bad and falls on it's face during a launch (and I rev the hell out of it, usually have to slip the clutch pretty bad to keep the revs up for power) after it comes out it pulls alright, then at about 3-4300 rpms the engine just go kapoot and doesn't make anymore power till about 4300 rpm. It backfires through the carb sometimes and I sometimes hear a popping noise under load through the muffler that isn't loud enough to be a real backfire and it doesn't really sound like pinging either. I checked the timing, and it's pretty close to perfect, and the advance curve is right where it should be, so I'm pretty sure it's not timing.

If ya'll could do me a favor and just throw me every possible problem you think it could be, I'll be happy to check everything and maybe we can get this thing running like it should. Thanks in advance for your replies.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old Jan 20th, 02, 09:26 AM
DjD
Retired
Dennis

Garage