4Likes
  • 1 Post By dhutton
  • 3 Post By Vega

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old May 8th, 18, 08:12 AM Thread Starter
Apprentice
Michael Lockwoo

Advice on purchasing an LS3

I'm almost ready to purchase the engine and transmission for my '69 LS3 project. I was thinking about getting the LS376/525 manual connect and cruise system from GM performance parts.

I have the correct Hooker transmission crossmember and engine mounts. I know I will need Hooker headers part number 70501318 and a new oil pan.

Does anyone have any advice on ordering the engine/tranny combo? Have you gone with GM perforce before? Is this a quality route? How long does it take for the engine to arrive? How hard is it to get the engine from the delivery truck to my back yard? How big is/are the crates the parts come in?

Sorry for the noob questions. Can you tell I am fairly new to this?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old May 8th, 18, 09:19 AM
Team Member
Don

Re: Advice on purchasing an LS3

The crate is pretty big and designed for a fork lift. I strapped it to the bucket on my front end loader. Might be able to move it with a heavy duty two wheel dolly and a friend.

It is tough to find a discounted price now that GMPP has restricted advertised price to list price. Phoning around is likely your best bet.

Summit and Jegs will show if it is in stock and you will get it in a few days if it is in stock.

Don
130fe likes this.

1969 Camaro LSA 6L90E AME subframe and IRS
1969 Camaro vert LS3 4L65E Ridetech level 2 - sold
1959 El Camino project
1969 Mustang Sportsroof project
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

1956 Cameo project - C5 drivetrain
1957 Buick Caballero project
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old May 8th, 18, 04:49 PM
Senior Tech
Garth

Garage