Team Camaro Tech banner

Pro & Cons to buying a 69 Camaro LS2 Swap?

7K views 20 replies 8 participants last post by  Titan Uranus 
#1 ·
I know all the threads on the cost of an LS engine swap but what should I beware of if I'm looking to purchase a 69 with LS2 swap already done? Let me start off by saying I'm not a weekend mechanic or much of a mechanic at all. I understand the LS are great engines but my concern is reliability of the swap verses just buying a 1st gen with say a 350 or a big block.
Here's the details of the build:
1969 Chevrolet Camaro SS with an LS2 V8 with fuel injection, aluminum heads, custom intake manifold with cold air intake, full-length Hedman Headers running to true dual exhaust and a smooth shifting modern automatic transmission. An aluminum radiator with electric fan keep it all cool. The engine compartment is ready to show with a custom radiator cover, chrome hood latch and fender braces and aluminum valve covers. The LS2 is built with Texas Speed 228R cam, Texas Speed valve train, an aftermarket intake with 92mm throttle body, forged pistons, all new seals and gaskets, 5 angle valve job with ported heads and long tube headers with Black Widow exhaust! The engine was built to handle a ProCharger supercharger, but it was never added. It is backed by a built 4L80E transmission with an FTI3000 converter, which then routes the power out back to a beefed up rear end with 3.55 gears and a new Auburn posi unit and TA girdle cover. Subframe connectors have been added to stiffen up the chassis along with traction bars.

Again my main concern is something fairly reliable. I know all old cars I have to work on once in a while, I just don't want to replace expensive components that tie into the LS swap verses a traditional V8 engine. Maybe I'm wrong if the build is done right, that is why I am listing the build and putting this out there for opinion?

See less See more
#2 ·