bent axle - Team Camaro Tech
Tech 2002 General Tech questions from 2002
Replies ONLY, no new topics.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old Jul 5th, 02, 07:16 AM Thread Starter
Tech Team

I just installed a 12-bolt posi rearend in my 69. I drove it around the block to check it out and noticed the rear wheel was wobbling. Upon inspection the flange is bent on one side. I now have a new axle and was wondering if there are any special tricks or things to look out for in changing the axle. I have never done this before and am looking for any tips to make the axle change go as smooth as possible.

Thanks,
Greg
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old Jul 5th, 02, 07:54 AM
Senior Tech

Send a message via AIM to CamaroNOTcamero
pull off the cover.
remove the c-clip, then remove the brake drum. Remove axle, replace axle, then put c-clip on.
Clean of the surface that the cover seals with. seal up, and replace cover.

Make sure you be careful, and jack up the car correctly, and support with jackstands in the correct places, dont want to hear about anyone getting hurt.

[This message has been edited by CamaroNOTcamero (edited 07-05-2002).]
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old Jul 5th, 02, 09:44 AM
Senior Tech
Mark

I would only add to refill the differential with GM limited slip additive, 1-2 bottles, as well as fill with 90 Wt gear oil. You need the additive if you have a posi-traction differential.

-Mark.

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old Jul 5th, 02, 12:15 PM Thread Starter
Tech Team

Is there a difference between changing an axle for a posi and non posi rearend? Do you need to do anything special for the springs inside the posi unit? I had one person tell me to tie wire through them or they would fly off when you pulled the axle out. Has anyone heard of this?

Thanks for the responses,
Greg
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old Jul 6th, 02, 07:01 AM
Senior Tech