Newbie here... Get me started? - Team Camaro Tech
Tech 2002 General Tech questions from 2002
Replies ONLY, no new topics.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old Jul 22nd, 02, 11:39 PM Thread Starter

Just don't tell me I'm an idiot.

I got my car for about $500 from this old guy down the road when I was 17. Since then I've invested about $5,000 into making it driveable. I've either fixed or replaced nearly every major component, and even some not-so major ones. It's got a new 350, a new auto 3-spd, new brakes, new a/c (though it stopped working shortly after replacement), new shocks, new paint, yadda, yadda, yadda.

I figure since I inadvertently put so much time into restoring it, I may as well finish the bitch off.

A year or so after purchasing, and after the new paint job, I moved to a bad area so I could go to school. The radio was ripped off, the car was almost stolen (I caught the bastards as they were hammering a foot-long screwdriver under the driver-side door lock), the front fender was keyed, and I drove it through an unavoidable puddle of wet tar on a interstate on-ramp (the splat on the side of the car is still there).

The more I thought about it, the more I wanted it to be an ***-kicker. I love the car dearly; it handles better and has a quicker response than any new car I've driven. So, here's what I was thinking.

I want to strip and repaint it a green-color. Maybe avocdado or a dark lime. Maybe paint the spoiler, grille and headlight bezels black. Redo the camel interior in black and green, remove the lower part of the dash for more leg room (I'm a tall guy), take out the center-console and put a new shifter on the floor. I also want to do some engine work, but I probably can't afford to right now. It's solid as-is, anyhow.