Recommendations for a new shop - Team Camaro Tech
Tech 2002 General Tech questions from 2002
Replies ONLY, no new topics.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old Aug 23rd, 02, 02:43 AM Thread Starter
Gold Lifetime Member
Ken

Send a message via AIM to Winch Send a message via MSN to Winch
I'm starting to develop plans for a new shop and would like some input. It will be a detached building set about 50' from the house. I want to use it for body work and paint as well as mechanical. I'm totally new to body & paint work so I don't have a clue what to plan for. I'm thinking 24x32 with 10' walls. Walls and ceiling drywalled with a single 12' x 8' overhead garage door.
What kind of electric capablitity should I plan for? Should I consider floor drains and water supply? (I'm on 3 1/2 acres with my own well and septic). I do have to meet some subdivision regulations.
I think a floor lift would be too expensive but I have seen a hoist system up in the attic that I might plan for.
Any suggestions would be appreciated. I hope this is in the right forum. If not move it where it belongs.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old Aug 23rd, 02, 03:17 AM
Gold Lifetime Member
Rick

I would minimally put in 100 amp service, put some 220 outlets in as well as the normal 110. Put outlets waist high on the walls so you don't have to bend, skip floor drains as they will clog over time, put some outlets in the ceilings for things like drop lights, garage door opener. I have 10" ceiling and I would do 12' if I ever do another. A lift is about $3K and well worth it. If you can afford it, build the largest shop you can afford. I did a 24X28 and am not putting a 12X20 addition on it. I'm sure more will chime in with great ideas.

------------------
Rick Dorion
69 RS Conv,355,M20,4.10's and I don't worry about stone chips ( yet ).
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old Aug 23rd, 02, 03:50 AM
Retired
Jim