Where do you start when restoring? - Team Camaro Tech
Tech 2002 General Tech questions from 2002
Replies ONLY, no new topics.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old Nov 1st, 02, 01:40 AM Thread Starter

I am currently driving a 1997 30th anniversary SS. I have gotten to the point as to where I don't want the car anymore, because I feel guilty about swapping out parts on an anniversary car.

SO, I was contemplating about trying to restore a 1970-1971 2nd gen Camaro. If I find a car with a good straight body and rust free panels, where do I start in the restoration process? Is there a certain agenda that restorers try to follow to complete the task?

Thanks guys. I am new to the old camaro stuff. My next questions will be trying to get some info on the 406 power plant.

------------------
<UL TYPE=SQUARE>
1997 30th anniversary SS
LT1, 6spd, houndstooth,
Full exhaust (longtubes, offroad ypipe, cutout)
Full suspension
Drag radials
computer tune
301rwhp 329rwtq corrected[/list]
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old Nov 1st, 02, 02:22 AM
Senior Tech
John

Welcome to the greatest site on the web!

There are a couple of different ideas about the order of operations in a resto. I guess the first thing you'll need to decide is whether you want to tear the whole car apart and redo everything at once, or whether you want to keep the car driveable as much as possible, doing little jobs here and there with little down time for the car.

I think that with my next projects, I will be going the first route... completely stripping the car and refinishing everything in one huge project.