Junk Yard tips??? - Team Camaro Tech
Tech 2002 General Tech questions from 2002
Replies ONLY, no new topics.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old Nov 17th, 02, 03:44 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech

I am bought to start searching junkyards for some parts, namely parts for a manual transmission, disc brake setups, etc for my 68 Camaro. I'm new at all this so I was wondering if you guys have any good tips on searching for parts in junk yards. Mostly looking for what kind of deals or working arrangements that some junk yards have given you? Maybe one price for all, you pull it deal, etc etc. Just looking for some good information that I can go in with. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old Nov 17th, 02, 05:55 PM
Senior Tech

Welcome to Team Camaro Jason, im an 84 owner myself and new to this resto process myself, but i can tell you one thing, youve definetly have come to the right place, the guys here are extremely knowledgeable here and have answered all of my questions and the results have been satisfactory everytime.

------------------
1984 Chevy Camaro (305)
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old Nov 18th, 02, 02:26 AM
Guess

Ya know what I do? I print the threads right from these forums that pertain to what I'm looking for and take a folder full with me to the yards! One time a buddy and I split up, both armed with pages right from Team Camaro Tech Forums!

I also pack a large backpack full of tools that will fit in it and throw it on my back, and a toolbox full in the back of the truck. Depending on what I'm looking for, I'll throw the floor jack and a bunch of boards in back too, in case I have to jack something up. Rags, WD-40, gloves, goggles/safety glasses, BandAids, and last but not least..... wasp/hornet spray!

I prefer You-Pick-It type places. I don't have time to wait around for some dude to go looking for what I need and come back with pieces missing or worse yet, TORCHED off!