13Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 47 (permalink) Old Mar 25th, 20, 02:59 PM Thread Starter
Gold Lifetime Member
Dave

Garage
Flex plate or torque making noise?

I'm new to this so, take it easy on me

I have a bad clunking noise going on. At first I was concerned it was the motor but, I think it is the torque converter or in that area.

I put the car up on jack stands and I check the flex plate bolts. They were definitely not torque very high but, they were not falling off. I torqued them to 45lbs and re started the car. It seems less noisy but, it is still there.

I can grab the flex plate with my hand and I can rotate it back in forth about 1/4" and it seems to make the clunk I am hearing. It does not move front to back rather it rotates around the axis(as I assume it should).

Any ideas? I don't know how it bolts to the crank but that almost seems like the problem??

thanks,
Dave

Dave

1968 camaro
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 47 (permalink) Old Mar 25th, 20, 03:47 PM
John

Garage
Re: Flex plate or torque making noise?

Flex plate should not move at all. It is bolted solid to the crank. If the crank isnít moving the flex plate does move. Not even a 1/4Ē.

Imo time to pull the tranny and change the flex plate.

2017 Corvette ZO6 with ZO7 Option
66 Chevelle Protour LS3/525(SOLD AT Mecum 2018)
69 SS396 Cortez Silver(SOLD)
69 Z28(Sold)
69 Pro Tour - LS3/T56
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(SOLD)
69 Pro Tour - LS7/T56 (SOLD)
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

69 Z28/RS Tribute355/5 Speed (SOLD)
69 RS Clone 427/TH400 (SOLD)
67 RSZZ502/5 Speed (SOLD)
69 Camaro 406 SBC/TH400 (SOLD)
post #3 of 47 (permalink) Old Mar 25th, 20, 04:03 PM
Gold Lifetime Member
keith

Sounds like the holes in the flex plate got elongated because they were loose. Like John said... Needs replacing.

X-77 keith