Team Camaro Tech banner

Flex plate or torque making noise?

8K views 70 replies 13 participants last post by  EVL SS 
#1 ·
I'm new to this so, take it easy on me :)

I have a bad clunking noise going on. At first I was concerned it was the motor but, I think it is the torque converter or in that area.

I put the car up on jack stands and I check the flex plate bolts. They were definitely not torque very high but, they were not falling off. I torqued them to 45lbs and re started the car. It seems less noisy but, it is still there.

I can grab the flex plate with my hand and I can rotate it back in forth about 1/4" and it seems to make the clunk I am hearing. It does not move front to back rather it rotates around the axis(as I assume it should).

Any ideas? I don't know how it bolts to the crank but that almost seems like the problem??

thanks,
Dave

See less See more
#2 ·
Flex plate should not move at all. It is bolted solid to the crank. If the crank isn’t moving the flex plate does move. Not even a 1/4”.

Imo time to pull the tranny and change the flex plate.

Reactions: StevieBB54
#3 ·
Sounds like the holes in the flex plate got elongated because they were loose. Like John said... Needs replacing.

Reactions: jimnecci
#5 ·
Thanks guys everyone. The flex plate is brand new (500miles on it), I bought the car as is and I have e receipt where they had a transmission shop align the bellhousing and install everything so, I assume it was done correctly but, who knows.

I did look for cracks and I don't see anything. After I tightened everything, it seems to make a little less noise but, still makes noise. I will have to pull the transmission. This stinks, lol.. I have almost everything to do a T56 magnum swap but, I want this noise figured out before I introduce more issues.

#8 ·