Team Camaro Tech banner

Replacing pinion seal & possibly the yoke on 12 bolt

29K views 17 replies 8 participants last post by  big gear head 
#1 ·
The rear pinion seal on my 12 bolt is leaking like crazy. While mechanically inclined I have limited experience working on differentials. Locally they want $80-$100 plus parts to install a new seal and possibly yoke. How difficult is this? Are their any special tool or procedures I need to follow? Of course the local shops lead me to believe this is somewhat difficult. To me it seems like a rather simple fix, but I don't want to risk thrashing a 12 bolt over $80.

Thanks in advance

#2 ·
The problem with replacing the seal is that underneath it is a crush collar that compresses when the pinion nut is tightened down. When you initially set up the gears, you squash down the collar until you get the proper preload on the pinion bearings.(this usually takes a breaker bar with a cheater pipe). When you take the nut off, you lose the preload, in turn changing the pinion depth, which changes the set up of the gears. I believe some people don't worry about that and attempt to mark the positioning of the nut and tighten the old nut and collar back down to that point after installing the new seal. (rather difficult to do). The correct way is to get a new crush collar and nut from your local dealer and reset the preload on the pinion bearings. The problem with this is that, (anyone correct me if iI am wrong) you set the pinion bearing preload without the ring gear in place, so that would require taking the carrier and ring gear out. The preload is set by using a 1/4 inch beam style torque wrench adapted up to the proper size of the nut. Be sure to check the yolk to make sure there is no damage or grooving in the seal area. I hope this helps and my intentions are not to scare you from doing this job yourself.

#3 ·