Need help....Overheating for a few years now - Team Camaro Tech
Heating & Cooling Heating, cooling and air conditioning

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old Mar 9th, 07, 09:47 AM Thread Starter

Need help....Overheating for a few years now

Hey all this is my first time posting on this forum but that could be due to me not owning a Camaro. I have a problem with a 350 Chevy motor overheating, reading other posts you guys have a lot of interesting suggestions that might help my situation.

Here is the scoop in 2001 I had a 350 Chevy put in my 1991 Mazda B2200 pickup you ask why well itís a show truck and I needed it to look pretty. The motor is bolted to a turbo 400 trany and cooled by a 4 core Griffin aluminium rad with dual Flex-a-lite fans. Also I swapped out the rear end for a Ford 9 inch to get the right gear ratio.

When the motor was built it ran around 180-190 degrees but it was set very rich for break in time. The next few years I didnít drive it much because it always would run around 220 degrees and I got tired of keeping the heat on in the summer, did I mention I only drove it in the summer. Now I can only drive it at night on those cool summer nights or with the heat on even that gets the temp up to 220-225 degrees.

I have changed the thermostat several times trying different ones to see if this would help and I ended up just running an open thermostat because nothing else worked. In 2002 I had the shortie Hedman headers wrapped but then was told about horror fire stories so I took it off. In 2005 I got the headers ceramic coated but didnít notice a drop in temperature.

This is what I know the trany should have been a 700 to give me the overdrive also because of the custom truck the front bumper cover is not letting that much air through the front. Before I go and change the trany and front end of my truck I want to know if there is anything else I can do to try to keep this motor cool.

I appreciate the comments.