Ive Searched Every where.. - Team Camaro Tech
Heating & Cooling Heating, cooling and air conditioning

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old Jun 17th, 07, 08:47 AM Thread Starter

Ive Searched Every where..

I have a problem that I cannot Figure out. I am a Mechanic, I do know what I am doing. I just need some help. Alright, 1988 camaro 305 with a 350 Engine. (305 computer & Injecotors) The Coolant Fan Will Not kick on Ever. I replaced the Relay on the firewall Awhile ago (before the fan died) The old one was clicking on and off all the time no matter what the temp. was. The motor and everything on it is 45,000 miles old.

I have a 150* thermostat. So Driving down the road is not a Problem at all it stays Under 150, Until I get into traffic and/or stop and sit. Ive hot wired the fan, so the Fan it self is good. Fuses are Good.

I am Replacing the ECM as well as the injectors for a 350. In my research I found that it may be the ecm, is that true? I dont know where to look.

The Relay on the Fire wall is getting power.

The Switch/Sending unit on the manifold has power but I canot get a ground. is the Ground Controlled by the ecm?

Thanks a Bunch, Nick Hall
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old Jun 17th, 07, 09:20 AM
Gold Lifetime Member
Kevin

Re: Ive Searched Every where..

Nick...

Yes, The ECM will set the ground for the fans to kick on. A buddy just ran into the veery same problem on his Pontiac. Everything tested good so concluded that it was the ECM. Changed it and the fan worked as it should.

Kev
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old Jun 17th, 07, 09:25 AM
Gold Lifetime Member
Harley

Send a message via Yahoo to wiskeesour

Remember, that GEN F-body has minor cooling problems anyway due to inadequate flow of air thru the radiator. An aftermarket 4 core rad and a PUSH fan vice pull fan works better....IMHO

AE2(AW) Harley Moody, USNavy
"Master-at-Arms" for the CDWJB!!