getting hot on highway - Team Camaro Tech
Heating & Cooling Heating, cooling and air conditioning

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 54 (permalink) Old Sep 13th, 10, 05:15 AM Thread Starter
Senior Tech

getting hot on highway

hey guys i have a 355sbc with m21 muncie and a 4.10 rear end.

it runs 180-190 all day long in the city and at idle it never gets above 190.

but after 5 minutes on the highway doing 70-80mph (3600-3800rpm) it creeps up to 230 and will go from 220-230 depending on my speed.

i have stock radiator with stock shroud with edelbrock high flow pump and NO thermostat; do you think it's time for an aluminum radiator? would that solve my highway issues?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 54 (permalink) Old Sep 13th, 10, 05:51 AM
Banned
Alan

Re: getting hot on highway

I'm no expert but I have heard somtimes they run cooler with a thermostat because of pressure vs flow.....its a cheap try...Is it a 4 core radiator?....that gear is'nt helping though.
post #3 of 54 (permalink) Old Sep 13th, 10, 08:34 AM
DjD
Retired
Dennis

Garage

What kind of fan are you running? Most flex type fans will flatten out at higher rpm and block air flow. Your symptoms sound like this could be the case...

You really should run a t-stat, if your cooling system is up to snuff it will regulate the coolant temps and keep your engine at a more consistent temp. It will also insure your engine gets up to operating temp quicker...

...Dennis

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Don't take life so serious, you won't get out alive..."

post #4 of 54 (permalink) Old Sep 13th, 10, 10:49 AM
Senior Tech
TJ

You need to put the thermostat in, im almost willing to bet that will fix it.