Mini Tub or not to Mini Tub? - Team Camaro Tech
Pro Touring Todays performance with classic style

1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old Oct 7th, 12, 08:22 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Brad

Mini Tub or not to Mini Tub?

Can some one please tell me the difference between Detroit speed inc Deep Tubs and there mini tub kit? Can I keep my same 12 bolt rear end with out modifications to it? What size wheels and tires can I run with these? I am a newbie so please take it easy on me. Im just trying to learn on here. Thanks!

Last edited by Yates; Oct 7th, 12 at 09:10 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old Oct 7th, 12, 08:26 PM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Brad

Mini Tub or Deep Tubs?

Can some one please tell me the difference between Detroit speed inc Deep Tubs and there mini tub kit? Can I keep my same 12 bolt rear end with out modifications to it? What size wheels and tires can I run with these? I am a newbie so please take it easy on me. Just trying to learn somehting here.

Last edited by Yates; Oct 7th, 12 at 09:09 PM.
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old Oct 8th, 12, 04:02 AM
Gold Lifetime Member
Mike

Re: Mini Tub or not to Mini Tub???

The wheel tubs are the same. To run larger tires you need to move the shocks and the leaf springs inboard. If you search here or on Pro-Touring.com or Lateral-G.net, I'm sure you'll find threads about mini-tubbing a first gen F-body.

Mike - '68 Camaro - aftermarket or modern pretty much everything.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old Oct 8th, 12, 05:44 AM
John

Garage
Re: Mini Tub or not to Mini Tub?

You can run your stock 12 bolt with wider wheels.

If you have a 69 it will be hard to get the wheels on and off unless you narrow the rear end.