New to Tech forums - Team Camaro Tech
New Member Introductions New here? Please introduce yourself.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old Mar 18th, 08, 12:54 PM Thread Starter

New to Tech forums

New to this forum. I am an extreme do it yourselfer - research and patience is key. I beleive anyone can do anything - pilot a space shuttle no problem with time and good set of manuals - man built it and desinged it and last I checked most people fall in that category.

Hey there I am a Technical Project Manager by trade so everything is tied to Cost performance and quality.

I restored my 72 Camaro standard coupe to an RS with Z28 options on a $10k budget. I am proud of my restore; it is a great driver and would not take much to turn show if so desired.

I got this 72 camaro in 1987 for $1000.00 = $3000.00 present day value. No rust - fortunate there. The car had been sandwhiched prior to me owning so had to go under some tugging and metal working once Old Bondo removed ($2,200). There are indications it had been an RS before accident Wipers and Hood latch were for RS yet it had standard front end with a single side mirror when I got it.

I painted it primer white, yellow base and pearl with Orange copper flake PPG. When Sun hits it their is a sun burst effect. Last but not least period correct runaway stripes - tuxedo black. ($1300.00)

Tranny is Saginaw for overdrive capability (Budget). Engine is 94 Vortec, mild CAM RV roller set up, Vortec Heads, 600Cfm Edelbrock, and HEI distributor - engine is salvage $500.00; Vortec Heads $500.00; Assembly / inspection $250.00. You may notice how this is very close to stock. Also the interior is stck/period colors but mixed - sandalwood and black contrast.

RS panels ($1000); Suspension, Brakes ($500.00); tranny (trade off at $200.00)

Not bad for first full frame off restore as much a frame off as a camaro can get.