67 wheel offset & clearance question - Team Camaro Tech
New Member Introductions New here? Please introduce yourself.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old Mar 26th, 08, 11:03 AM Thread Starter

Question 67 wheel offset & clearance question

Howdy All,

I'm new at the restoration game. I have a 67 convertible Camaro with a rebuilt 302 engine in it and a Z28 paint job./ I'm restoring it as a Z28 clone. I'm installing 4-wheel disc brakes on the car and plan to put on 15 x 6 inch stock rally wheels all around with straight spinner knock-off center caps. I'm leaning toward P215/65 R15 BFG Goodrich Radial T/A raised white letter tires as this seems to be close to the 195/75 R15 stock 1967 Z28 tire. My questions are first should I order the wheels with any offset and secondly should I worry about any wheel well, etc. clearance issues? The car currently has P235/65 SR14 tires without any problems but they are old/dry rotted and I wanted to go to the Z28 15 inch tire size. Should I consider any other tire size or wheel size? I's appreciate any knowledgable advice!

Mike in College Station
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old Mar 26th, 08, 12:02 PM
Senior Tech
Brian

Re: 67 wheel offset & clearance question

Mike I have 235/60/15 on my 68. I have the stock 7 inch wide rally rim with rally centres. I would recomend the 7 inch rally rather than the 6 because they are more readily available. I do have a slight rub up front when I make a tight turn. The 225 front and 235 rear would be a good combo. You want to fill the wheel, and it is nice to have a little width on the rear. The T/A are a prefect tire to get that white lettered look. The 215s are a little skinny but I know they originals were also.
I had a set of 225/70/15 T/As on my 69 Z and they were great. The 60s looked too small.
They are the standard back space what ever that is.