SS or RS - Team Camaro Tech
New Member Introductions New here? Please introduce yourself.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old Mar 31st, 08, 09:35 AM Thread Starter
Senior Tech
Mark

SS or RS

at the risk of sounding like a total newbie, upon first reviewing a car, what are the things to look for to tell an SS from RS.. with people putting taking badges off and putting others on.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old Mar 31st, 08, 10:58 AM
Team Member
Matt

Re: SS or RS

A car can be an RS/SS. They are separate options. Some cars were plain jane, some RS, some SS, some RS/SS.

What to look for (beyond badges):

RS cars have hide-a-way headlights, reverse lights on the lower back valance, and parking lights on the lower front valance. The brake lens will be all red and not red/clear.
RS cars have electrical (or vacuum) equipment to open/close the hide-a-way doors.
I believe the RS option is listed on the cowl tag. (I know it is on ‘67s).
RS features are more difficult to fake. The hide-a-way doors are not an easy (slap on) upgrade.

SS is a bit different. A 327 can be made to look like a 350 with a few stickers and/or emblems.

What is your experience with Camaros? (You said you are a total newbie.) Are you looking for general information or more detailed stuff?

For example, the car has 350, but you are still wondering if it is an SS (despite the emblems). If that is the case, you might look for:
- 12 bolt rear end (correct date code)
- cowl tag on a ‘67
- motor numbers (correct date)

There are many more. Do a search for “is my car a SS?” and other variations.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old Mar 31st, 08, 04:11 PM
Team Member
Matt