Ignition Problem Mystery - Team Camaro Tech
New Member Introductions New here? Please introduce yourself.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old Jul 14th, 11, 01:19 PM Thread Starter
Joe

Ignition Problem Mystery

This is my first time to the forum and I need some advice on an electrical problem with my 69 Camaro RS/SS convertible. When the starter clunked, I first replaced an old battery and then the starter and it continued to clunk. After jiggling the ignition switch with the key inserted, no starter sound.

Then I moved the steering wheel tilt up and ran my hands over the wiring harness on the steering column. Now the car starts.

I don't know what is wrong and I'm afraid to ride it.

Any clues as to my problem?

Joe Kono
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old Jul 14th, 11, 04:25 PM
Senior Tech
Steve

Re: Ignition Problem Mystery

Clunk isn't very descriptive - does it start? Clunk then start or Clunk and then nothing when you turn the key?

69 Pace Car and 69 Hard top
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old Jul 14th, 11, 05:20 PM
Admin/Super Moderator
Brian

Garage

Welcome aboard Joe. You should post this question in the electrical forum since not everyone reads the welcome wagon. But sounds like you have a short / or broken wire in the column and the tilt either connects it or doesn't. Tilt original? so you have a 69? Its is a good idea every time you post to include details about your vehicle or include these in your signature. That way we can get to the marrow of your issue without ten post back and forth to discover this information.

You can buy a remote starter button at any decent auto parts source. These are used for tuning and testing and hook that direct to your starter. If you hit the remote starter button and the starter engages and sounds strong then your issue is in the ignition/steering wiring in the column.