Are "tributes" replicas? Advice for 1st gen convertible shopper? - Team Camaro Tech
New Member Introductions New here? Please introduce yourself.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old May 10th, 13, 01:34 PM Thread Starter
Gold Lifetime Member
Todd

Are "tributes" replicas? Advice for 1st gen convertible shopper?

Howdy everybody! I just joined your site as an ex-Camaro owner and hopefully future Camaro owner!

My first car was a 1967 Camaro about 30 years ago. Ever since, I have dreamed of having a first gen SS/RS convertible...ideally with factory air since I live in Phoenix. (Like I said, it is a dream like wanting to be naked in a hot tub with Halle Berry, so I'm willing to compromise). I've been working on my wife for several years on this and I'm finally at the point where I might be able to pull this off...buying a Camaro that is, not the Halle hot tub thing!

I'll be searching around camaros.net a lot over the next several weeks for advice, so I hope this isn't too much of a duplicate question, but I would love any advice that you all have about searching for a car like this. One thing I have noticed while looking for cars is some are "tributes". What exactly does that mean? I've also seen "replica", which makes me think of "kit" cars or something like that. I really want a real Camaro (no offense to any replica owners) but I wasn't sure if "tribute" was another way of saying replica.

I'm the type of person that will keep this car for the rest of my life so I want to make sure I take the time to get something really nice so any advice from experts would be greatly appreciated!

-Todd
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old May 10th, 13, 01:40 PM
Senior Tech
Broc

Re: Are "tributes" replicas? Advice for 1st gen convertible shopper?