Hey all! I'm new here. - Team Camaro Tech
New Member Introductions New here? Please introduce yourself.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old May 19th, 13, 05:50 PM Thread Starter
Ryan

Hey all! I'm new here.

Hey everyone. I'm Ryan from Toledo, Ohio and as you can figure from the title I'm new. I'm a 20-year-old college student in pursuit of a Computer Science degree, but I've always had a thing for cars. I have a bit of experience working on cars, but not as much as I would like to. I hope to learn a ton from you guys as I progress through my upcoming project.

My last attempt was a '71 Nova, but I didn't know what to look for and I bought a total junker. Luckily I was able to get rid of it without losing too much, but I definitely want to avoid that situation again.

Although I don't own a Camaro yet, I am in the final stages of purchasing a '81 Z28. As an intro request, I'd appreciate it if I could get a brief list of last-minute things to check before purchasing this car. I've had a trusted mechanic check it out and everything seems good so far but I want to cover as many bases as possible. Thanks in advance!

Ryan
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old May 19th, 13, 07:36 PM
Gold Lifetime Member
John

Thumbs up Re: Hey all! I'm new here.

First off - Welcome to Team CAMARO

Next, the main thing to check for in your part of the country is RUST
Nothing takes the out of a new project purchase faster than finding all the 'hidden' rust the previous owner sorta-forgotta-tell-ya about
Rust in these vehicles can be a real challenge for even those with mad craftsman skills, let alone a guy just trying to get started in the hobby. This work costs a ton to have done by professionals ... Money better spent finding a better starting point for your project in most cases

Engine, trans and driveline work is to be expected unless your buying a truly 'restored' from ground up vehicle.