new to site - Team Camaro Tech
New Member Introductions New here? Please introduce yourself.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old Feb 26th, 15, 09:43 PM Thread Starter
Tod

new to site

Hi gang. I'm going to look at, and possibly buy, a 67 Camaro RS/SS tomorrow if it is legit.I came here for knowledge and guidance oh obe one. The data tag says it's a 2EMG, 3SL, 4P. It's a project. I just want to know if it's an RS/SS before I buy and put time and money into it. I'm not an expert, but I wasn't sure if they put power glides in SS cars.
Thanks
Tod
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old Feb 26th, 15, 09:50 PM
Team Member
Jerry

Re: new to site

Welcome.

69 SS/RS
565 BBC
Tremic 6 speed
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old Feb 26th, 15, 11:15 PM
Gold Lifetime Member
John

Cool Re: new to site

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod's Rodz View Post
Hi gang. I'm going to look at, and possibly buy, a 67 Camaro RS/SS tomorrow if it is legit ... came here for knowledge and guidance ...
The data tag says it's a 2EMG, 3SL, 4P. It's a project. I just want to know if it's an RS/SS before I buy ...
... wasn't sure if they put power glides in SS cars.
Thanks
Tod
First, welcome to Team CAMARO

And from just the few numbers from the Cowl Tag you listed we can 'confirm' that it (or at least that Cowl Tag) designates it as an RS/SS when assembled.

Decode would be:
Group 2 options;
E = RPO-C60 Air Conditioning system
M = RPO-M35 PowerGlide Automatic transmission they put them in SS's
G = RPO-D55 Console mounted shifter
Group 3 options;
S = RPO-Z23 Interior Décor - Custom Interior
L = RPO-Z22 Rally Sport package option
Group 4 options;
P = Engine Option Reinforcement or Radius Rod Modification ( read http://www.camaros.org/radiusrod.shtml for more info on this)

Looks like a nice base for a project if it's in decent condition.