1968 and 1969 - Team Camaro Tech
New Member Introductions New here? Please introduce yourself.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old Sep 5th, 16, 09:30 PM Thread Starter
Spencer

Thumbs up 1968 and 1969

Went to a car show and got inspired by a 1972 Porsche 911 to get in to restoring old cars. My ultimate goal would be to restore an old Porsche, but in the mean time I have access to a '68 Camaro and a '69 Camaro. They've been sitting out on a piece of property for a while now (15 years?). One in an open field, the other in a barn.

I am brand new to this. What should I expect to get them into running condition as far as cost and hours are concerned? Where do I start?

Thanks,

Spencer
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old Sep 6th, 16, 03:58 AM
Senior Tech
Brian

Re: 1968 and 1969

Welcome! No one is going to be able to answer those questions without more info. It could be as simple and changing all the fluids, a good battery and gas, and hitting the key, or it could be a thorough overhaul of all the systems to get them to run/stop/drive safely. After 15 years sitting, I'm leaning toward the latter. Brakes and tires should be your first consideration. More than likely mice/chipmunks/critters have had their way with the wiring, too.

Experience...... It's what you get when you didn't get what you wanted.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old Sep 6th, 16, 04:43 AM
Senior Tech
Karl

Garage

Welcome Spencer...photos would definitely help to answer some of your questions. Personally, I'd lean toward the barn find being somewhat protected from the environment. Not to dissuade you, but, restoration is not cheap so be ready for an eye opener. Shoot us some pics...

Karl / VetteFreak
69 Camaro RS 350/350TH...Burgundy...711-Black Int/Houndstooth Seats
2007 Corvette Conv. LS-2/A6...Monterey Red/Black Top & Int

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old Sep 6th, 16, 06:46 AM
Senior Tech
jim

welcome to tc from another tn resident what part tn u from