68 Camaro - Team Camaro Tech
New Member Introductions New here? Please introduce yourself.

1Likes
  • 1 Post By KevinW

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old Sep 12th, 18, 06:54 PM Thread Starter
Probationer

68 Camaro

Hi All,

I have a 68 SS 4 speed that I'm restoring. I'm having trouble getting my reverse lights working. I'm trying to find out where the switch is that triggers them. I'm also not sure where the wires for this circuit are run. The Lamps are new but I loose the circuit when it leave the trunk. Can someone point me in the right direction for a good starting point or possibly a wiring diagram? I appreciate any help.

Joe
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old Sep 12th, 18, 06:58 PM
Gold Lifetime Member
Jim

Garage
Re: 68 Camaro

Welcome aboard!

Do you have a center console? I'm no expert but I thought the backup switch was in the console. If you download the AIM, it has wiring diagrams and just about everything you need to know.

Downloadable AIM's and some service manuals

'68 RS
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old Sep 12th, 18, 08:47 PM
Gold Lifetime Member
steve

I thought the 68s have a switch mounted on the transmission activated by the reverse arm of the shift linkage. There should be a harness plug in low on the firewall that connects to the switch harness

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old Sep 12th, 18, 09:07 PM
Senior Tech
Garth

All First Gen manual trans had the switch mounted on the trans as Steve described. See M20 in the AIM. Here's a pic showing where the wires go through the firewall....http://camaros.org/images/pages/opti...all_speedo.jpg

Welcome aboard. Correct year !

EDIT; Just seen these pics of Chick's 68Z. The second one shows the wire harness leading down to the switch.... https://www.camaros.net/forums/1783087875-post23.html

• '68 RS, AA, 749, L30, M(uncie)20 (originally a 3spd), 15yr backburner resto........

Last edited by Garfields Maro; Sep 12th, 18 at 09:22 PM.